Call for Special Sessions of ICOTA 8

Dear Colleagues,

We are pleased to announce that the 8th International Conference on Optimization: Techniques and Applications (ICOTA 8) will be held in the Shanghai, China on December 10-13, 2010. It is a continuation of the  ICOTA series, which has been held in Singapore (1989 and 1992), Chengdu, China (1995), Perth, Australia (1998), Hong Kong (2001), Ballarat, Australia (2004) and Kobe, Japan (2007). More information about ICOTA 8 can be found on the conference website at:

As the Co-Chairs of the ICOTA 8 International Programme Committee, we would like to invite you to organize a special session or stream for ICOTA 8. Special sessions and streams are to complement the regular technical programme with emerging topics of interest.  Thus, they will constitute very important parts of the programme of ICOTA 8.

Each special session will consist of 4 talks, 20 minutes each.  You are also welcome to organize a special stream which could include more than one session.  Please send your proposal to: 

by February 1, 2010.  The proposal should include the following information:

(1)    Title of the proposed special session (stream)
(2)    Name(s)/affiliation(s) of organizer(s), and contact email address

(3)         List of potential contributors and tentative paper titles (if available)

(4)         Aim of the proposed special session (stream)

Proposals will be evaluated on the basis of their relevance, timeliness, interest and significance, as well as the quality of potential papers to be included in the proposed session (stream).

Notification of acceptance of special sessions (streams) will be sent via email by February 20, 2010.  Special session (stream) organizers would be responsible for managing the review of the papers submitted to their proposed special sessions (streams).

Submission Deadline: February 1, 2010,    Acceptance Notification:  February 20, 2010

We look forward to receiving your proposals.

Yours sincerely

ICOTA 8 International Programme Committee

Masao Fukushima  (Kyoto University)
Kok Lay Teo  (Curtin University of Technology)